Meet our Board members

Richard MuirheadMr Richard Muirhead, Chairperson

Mr Richard Muirhead is the Chairperson of the MRA Board and is the Principal of Spiral Consulting which he has operated since January 2012. Over that period, Mr Muirhead has worked for a range of both corporate and government clients on different projects. He was contracted into the role of State Director National Commemorative Events in which he developed and managed the WA Government’s contribution to the ANZAC Centenary. Mr Muirhead has extensive experience as an executive and chief executive officer for the WA Government. From July 2010 to November 2011, Mr Muirhead was the State Director for Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) assisting the Commonwealth in staging the international event and developing initiatives to promote Western Australia, assist local business and encourage community participation. Prior to CHOGM, Mr Muirhead held the position of Chief Executive Officer of Tourism WA for eight years and the (former) Department of Commerce and Trade from 1997 to 2001. He has been the Chairperson of the MRA since January 2013 and has been appointed as Chairperson of VenuesWest from July 2015.

Mr Jeff Dowling, Deputy Chairperson

Mr Jeff Dowling is Deputy Chairperson of the MRA Board and Chairperson of the MRA’s Audit and Risk Committee and Subiaco Land Redevelopment Committee. A retired managing partner of the Ernst & Young Western Region and highly experienced corporate leader with 36 years’ experience in professional consultancy, Mr Dowling has held numerous leadership positions at Ernst & Young and his expertise centres around audit, risk and financial transactions. Mr Dowling is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and the Financial Services Institute of Australasia. Mr Dowling holds a directorship of Sirius Resources NL, Atlas Iron Ltd, NRW Ltd and PuraVida NL. Mr Dowling also holds a board position for the Telethon Institute for Child Health Research.

Carol AdamsMayor Carol Adams, Board Member

Mayor Carol Adams is a member of the MRA Board. Elected as a Councillor to the Town of Kwinana in May 1997, Mayor Adams served as Deputy from 2005 to 2006 before being elected as the first female Mayor to the Town in May 2006 where she has successfully held this position since that time with her current term expiring in 2017. Mayor Adams is a member of the South West Metropolitan Zone and a WALGA State Council delegate. In addition, she is the metropolitan member for the WA Grants Commission, Chairperson of the Kwinana Early Years’ Service Inc., member of the Gilmore College Independent School Board, Moorditj Koort Aboriginal Corporation, and Citizen Advice Bureau Kwinana Branch.

Ms Fiona Kalaf, Board Member

Ms Fiona Kalaf is a member of the MRA Board and Chairperson of the MRA’s Scarborough Land Redevelopment Committee. Ms Kalaf has wide-ranging business experience, working in senior executive positions for high profile organisations in Western Australia such as her past role as CEO of Lifeline WA and currently holds the position of CEO of Youth Focus. Ms Kalaf also has considerable board and committee experience, including her current role as Director of Australian Institute of Management WA and previous roles with the Central Perth Planning Committee, the Chairperson of the Art Gallery of Western Australia, the UWA Advisory Board to the Lawrence Wilson Art Gallery and the Australasian Institute of Banking and Finance.

Mr Charles Johnson, Board Member

Mr Charles Johnson is a member of the MRA Board, Chairperson of the MRA’s Central Perth Land Redevelopment Committee and was the former Chairperson of the Armadale Redevelopment Authority. He has a background in urban geography and town planning, with over 30 years’ experience working in Local and State Government as well as a period in private consultancy. Mr Johnson is currently the principal of his planning consultancy, President of the Planning Institute of Australia (WA Division) and Presiding Member of the Joint Central Metropolitan Development Assessment Panel.

Mr Nick Bruining, Board Member

Mr Nick Bruining is a member of the MRA Board, Chairperson of the MRA’s Midland Land Redevelopment Committee, and a member of the MRA Audit and Risk Committee. He is the Principal of N.C. Bruining & Associates. Also a freelance journalist, commentator and broadcaster, Mr Bruining is a former director of the Financial Planning Association of Australia Ltd.

Mr Eric Lumsden, Board Member

Mr Eric Lumsden is a member of the MRA Board, the Chairperson of the Armadale Land Redevelopment Committee, member of the MRA Audit and Risk Committee and is currently the Chairperson of the Western Australian Planning Commission with his previous position being Director General of the Department of Planning. With more than 30 years’ experience in local government, Mr Lumsden has previously held positions as Chief Executive Officer of the City of Melville and City of Swan, Commissioner of the City of South Perth and Chairperson of the Council of Swan TAFE and Eastern Metropolitan Regional Councils CEO Group. Mr Lumsden is a Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, Fellow and past President of the Local Government Managers Association (WA Division) and a Fellow of the IPAAWA. In 2005, Mr Lumsden was awarded the Public Service Medal for his contribution to Local Government and a place on the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.