1 December 2016

New board appointments for the MRA

  • Armadale
  • Chinatown
  • Claisebrook Village
  • East Perth Power Station
  • Elizabeth Quay
  • Midland
  • New Northbridge
  • Perth Cultural Centre
  • Riverside
  • Scarborough
  • Subi Centro
  • Wungong Urban

Planning Minister Donna Faragher has today welcomed Paul Lakey and Mayor Jo Dawkins to the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority board, for the next two years.

Mrs Faragher said the new appointments would bring a wealth of experience and knowledge for the establishment, delivery and management of planned communities.

Mr Lakey brings more than 25 years experience in the construction and development industry, and a history of strong leadership skills that has delivered a number of awarded and sustainable developments.

As Peet's Regional General Manager Development, Paul Lakey is responsible for a significant number of commercial, retail and residential projects across Western Australia, South Australia and the Northern Territory.

"Mr Lakey is extensively involved with the Urban Development Institute of Australia, the lead body representing the property development industry throughout the country, having held numerous roles on the board over the last six years," the Minister said.

Ms Dawkins, local mayor at the Town of Cottesloe, has enjoyed a 30-year career in the commercial property industry focusing on retail operations.

"Mayor Dawkins will bring her highly regarded negotiation and management skills to the board ensuring wide representation for the organisation across industry, government and the community," Mrs Faragher said.

The Minister thanked outgoing board members, Mayor Carol Adams and Fiona Kalaf for their years of service.

I would like to sincerely thank both Mayor Adams and Ms Kalaf for their commitment and input into what has been a significant time for the Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority, and wish them the very best in their new endeavours.

Current board members include Richard Muirhead (chairman), Jeff Dowling (deputy chairman), Charles Johnson, Nick Bruining and Eric Lumsden.

More from us

We’re working together with our project partner to deliver this iconic beachfront destination